Uncategorized

Physical Activity: Walking

Walking sounds easy but do you know the benefits, and more importantly, are you walking correctly?  Below, you will see reliable information from professionals – Mayo Clinic and Center for Disease Control and Prevention – and, some tidbits from ME 🙂 

The Mayo Clinic suggests that walking provides benefits such as:

  • Lowers LDL cholesterol
  • Raises HDL cholesterol
  • Lowers your blood pressure
  • Reduces your risk or manages Type 2 Diabetes
  • Manages your weight
  • Improves your mood
  • Stay strong and fit

Source: Mayo Clinic

Click here to see:  Proper Walking Technique

The Center for Disease Control and Prevention recommends the following guidelines for physical activity.  Walking plays a role in all age groups.  CDC breaks it down into three general age groups: 6-17 year olds (children), 18-64 year olds (adults), and 65 and older (older adults).

Source: CDC

Personally, I enjoy walking…especially when it’s outside in the beautiful Pacific Northwest!  Not only is it simple, walking is free and flexible.  I highly recommend walking in supportive sneakers and breathable clothing.  (I like to layer my clothing.  You definitely don’t want to overheat yourself.) 

Don’t forget your:

  • SUNSCREEN – even if you don’t think the sun will get you…it will.
  • SUNGLASSES – for obvious reasons.
  • MUSIC (i.e. iPod) – make sure your battery is charged.
  • WATER – hydrate, hydrate, hydrate!
  • STRETCH – warm up BEFORE the walk (especially with inclines/declines), and stretch afterwards.

Let’s WALK 🙂 

On your walk, you can take in all of the surrounding beauty and sounds of nature! 

The possibilities of where to walk are endless – trails, neighborhoods, small towns, cities, etc…  (Just make sure you know your surroundings.) 

Make sure you know if the area has public restrooms and drinking fountains.

Maybe you need a place to sit down and rest, or take in the views? 

Either way, ENJOY your walk and it won’t seem like exercise! 🙂 

Here are some great links to review:

Questions:

  1. What do you take on your walks?  (Music? Dog? Cell Phone?) 
  2. Why do you like to walk?  If not, why?  If so, why?
  3. Do you like walking on treadmills?  (I don’t know about you but I totally NEED a tv attached to mine at the YMCA!) 🙂
3 thoughts on “Physical Activity: Walking”

  1. I always bring my cell phone when I’m out walking, and a few bucks. When you’re walking, you notice little things that you don’t normally see when you’re whizzing by at 40 mph. I’ve found a few great little stores to buy water or a quick snack that way!

    1. A cell phone and money are definitely good to have. I know last time I walked, I ended up passing a cafe I wanted to have lunch at. I had to walk back to my vehicle – which was about 15 minutes past the cafe – because I didn’t bring my credit card! 😦 Oh well…lesson learned! It made lunch even better! Thanks for reading my blog! 🙂

  2. Loved your photos of the things you walked by!!!! Looked at your photos on FB today too and they are truly BEAUTIFUL!!!! You have a nice set of eyes….:)

Leave a Reply

